Click to visit our Facebook page
Restoring Lives and Communities Through Your Support.
Celebrating 10 Years of Empowering the Highland Park Community & Residents
Sign up for our e-newsletter
Joy Report - Spring, 2015
For Back Issues of Joy Report see News
Be Change agent for good!
DONATE NOW
Paypal, credit card
or
designate B&R to United Way, CVC, CFC and LG&S
Click to Learn More!
Support Our Businesses!

Rebuilding Lives Through Relationships and Job Training

Revitalizing a Commercial Corridor in Highland Park

Connecting Lives and Communities Through Shared Experiences

History & Vision
See Boaz & Ruth
on Video!

Boaz and Ruth
3030 Meadowbridge Rd
P. O. Box 6129
Richmond Va 23222
804 329-4900

 
Graduates - 2013  Print this page
Yah'Sunn Brown
2013 Graduate
Richard Flowers
2013 Graduate
 
Ty-Sean Jenkins
2013 Graduate
Lori Jenkins
2013 Graduate
 
Terrence Lancaster
2013 Graduate
Terry Lathan
2013 Graduate
 
Keith Mills
2013 Graduate
Ronald Nutt
2013 Graduate
 
Neal Owens
2013 Graduate
Raymond Quarles
2013 Graduate

Graduates - 2012
Albert Addison
2012 Graduate
2012 Graduate
Alvin Allen
Firehouse 15 - Cook

2012 Graduate
2012 Graduate-- Firehouse 15 Cook
 
Clyde Floyd
2012 Graduate
Firehouse 15 Food Service Team-- passed his SafeServe with high marks; Currently interviewing for jobs
Jesse Foster
2012 Graduate
Firehouse 15--Cook
 
Hakeem Sanders
2012 Graduate
2012 Graduate-- Food Service Team
Debra Stanley
Cathedral Constraction Team Member

2012 Graduate
Graduated With Honors
 
Mary Wilson
Wait Staff -- Firehouse 15

2012 Graduate
Quinton Woodson
2012 Graduate

Graduates - 2011
Lisa Burgo
Fire House 15 Restaurant

2011 Graduate
July 2010 to August 2011
Graduated Dec 2011
Employed -food service
Ray Hunt
Maintenance and Mountain Movers

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate
June 2011 - Present
 
Fred Lloyd
Cathedral Construction

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate
July 2010 to Present
Former volunteer
Robert Mike
2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate
Currently working at Tinkers Furniture Restoration

Parable Restoration

June 2010 - June 2011
Due to graduate 2011
Employeed
 
Milfred Pablo
Cathedral Construction

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate
June 2011 - Present
Corry Powell
Firehouse 15

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate
Entered early 2011
 
Jorge Roche
Fire House 15 Restaurant

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate

March 2010 to Present
Lindell Sykes
Cathedral Construction

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate
Currently working as substance abuse counselor at Healing Place and Rubicon

September 2010 to Present
 
Nikeea Terry
Firehouse 15

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate

July 2010 to Present
Phillip Williams
Cathedral Construction and Harvest Thrift

2011 Graduate
2011 Graduate

May 2010 to Present

Graduates - 2010
Rushdan Al-Waale
Cathedral Construction (Americorps)

2010 Graduate
September 2009 to August 2011
Self-employed as a painter
Joan Blacknell
Cathedral Construction

2010 Graduate
May 2009 to May 2010
(United Contractors of Virginia)
 
Tony Booker
Cathedral Construction (AmeriCorps)

2010 Graduate
March 2010 to June 2011
Michael Gordon
CARITAS Furniture Bank

2010 Graduate
Board of Director-- 2013-2015
member CEO Search Committee
Cathedral Construction (AmeriCorps)September 2009 to August 2011
 
Ronald Harvey
Cathedral Construction

2010 Graduate
January 2010 to Present
Duryea Holley
Connecting Team (AmeriCorps)

2010 Graduate
October 2010 to Present - Connecting Team
May 2009 to October 2010 (Cathedral Construction)
Graduated with honors

dholley@boazandruth.com
 
Henry Loftin
Sunny Days

2010 Graduate
September 2009 to Present
Former Volunteer
William McCray
Cathedral Construction

2010 Graduate
May 2009 to Present
(United Contractors of Virginia)
 
Ross Myers
Maintenance

2010 Graduate
September 2009 to January 2011
Former Volunteer
Kenneth Sutton
Firehouse 15 Cafe

2010 Graduate
April 2009 to Present
Firehouse Chef

Graduates - 2009
John Broughman
Firehouse 15

2009 Graduate
Entered September 2008
AmeriCorps Service Assignment--Firehouse 15
2009 Graduate
2010- elected to board of Boaz & Ruth
EMPLOYED GTT Enterprises- 2 years
Chesterfield County- 2012
Deceased--February 21, 2012

jbroughman@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
June Burrell
Fire House 15

2009 Graduate
Entered February 2009
jburrell@boazandruth.com
 
Antone Harris
Searching for Job--Grounds Maintenance Crew

2009 Graduate
Entered June 2008
aharris@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Linda Harris
Sales

2009 Graduate
Entered September 2008
lharris@boazandruth.com
 
Luther Jewell
Parable Restoration

2009 Graduate
Entered September 2008
Former Construction Team Member

ljewell@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Alicia Jones
Sales Clerk- 3030 Harvest Store

2009 Graduate
Entered May 2008
ajones@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
 
Alton Mitchell
Cathedral Construction (AmeriCorps)

2009 Graduate
September 2008 to August 2010
AmeriCorps member 08-09; 09-10
Grew up in Highland Park

amitchell@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Lafonda Taylor
Cathedral Construction

2009 Graduate
Entered February 2009
ltaylor@boazandruth.com
 
Roger Whitney
Construction

2009 Graduate
Entered September 2008
rwhitney@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume

Graduates - 2008
Charles Alexander
2008 Graduate
Graduate 2008
Entered February 2008
Cathedral Construction

calexander@boazandruth.com
Debra Covington
Graduate 2008 Harvest Stores Team

2008 Graduate
Novice
Entered September 2007
Harvest Stores:
SalesCustomer Service
left as post graduate

dcovington@boazandruth.com
 
Tommy Cox
Graduate 2008

2008 Graduate
Senior Apprentice
Entered May 2007
Maintenance:
Fire House Mini Mall Restoration Team

tcox@boazandruth.com
Victor Evans
Graduate 2008

2008 Graduate
Entered February 2008
Building Maintenance

vevans@boazandruth.com
 
Rochan Johnson
Graduate-Sunny Days Team Leader

2008 Graduate
Entered February 2008
Harvest Stores:
Sales Clerk/Customer Service

rjohnson@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Kenneth Jones
Graduate 2008

2008 Graduate
Entered February 2008
Construction:
Building Restoration

kjones@boazandruth.com
 
Crawley Patterson
Barber

2008 Graduate
Seeker
Entered February 2008
Cathedral Construction

cpatterson@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Wendell Randolph
Graduate 2008--Mountain Movers Team

2008 Graduate
Entered February 2008
Mountain Movers

wrandolph@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
 
Larry Riddick
2008 Graduate --Former Connecting Team Member

2008 Graduate
Apprentice
Entered September 2007
Ambassador of the Month, November 2007
Food Service: Diamond Cafe
Donna Scaturro
Graduate 2008--Harvest Store Team Leader

2008 Graduate
Entered January 2008
Peer Partner
Harvest Stores:
Sales Attendant, Customer Service

dscaturro@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
 
Michael Waddy
Graduate 2008

2008 Graduate
Job at WalMart in Computer Sales
Entered August 2007
Administration/IT Support

mwaddy@boazandruth.com
Shaun Walters
2008 Graduate

2008 Graduate
Senior Apprentice
Entered June 2007
Food Service:
Diamond Cafe Diamond Catering

swalters@boazandruth.com

Graduates - 2007
Leonard Bullock
2007 Graduate
Senior Apprentice
Connecting Team
Construction job 2007

lbullock@boazandruth.com
Jeanette Cain
Sales

2007 Graduate
Graduate Leader/Senior Apprentice
Entered September 2006
AmeriCorps member

jcain@boazandruth.com
 
Dwight Claxton
IT

2007 Graduate
Graduate Leader/Sr. Apprentice
Entered January 2007
July 2007 Ambassador of the Month
Toastmasters: Vice President of Education

dclaxton@boazandruth.com
Roxanne Davis
DPW

2007 Graduate
Graduate Leader/Senior Apprentice
Entered October 2006
AmeriCorps Member

rdavis@boazandruth.com
 
Kevin Hopkins
Driver Team Leader, Mountain Movers

2007 Graduate
Post Graduate
Senior Apprentice
Entered April 2006
AmeriCorps
Norman Mayo
Apprentice

2007 Graduate
Graduate Leader
Entered January 2007
Graduated December 2007
Food Service/Diamond Cafe/Diamond Catering

nmayo@boazandruth.com
 
Melvin Scarborough
Cathedral Construction

2007 Graduate
Entered February 2007
Fire House 15 Restoration Team

mscarborough@boazandruth.com
Charles Thomas
2007 Graduate
Apprentice
Entered June 2006
Graduated December 2007
Cathedral Apprentices
Giles House Team
Toastmasters
Firehouse Restoration Team
 
Norman Thomas
Cathedral Construction

2007 Graduate
Entered February 2007
Fire House 15 Restoration Team

nthomas@boazandruth.com

Graduates - 2006
Darlene Bell
Full Time Job--Firehouse 15

2006 Graduate
Senior Apprentice
AmeriCorps member
Toastmaster Secretary
Catering Rep.
Sales Rep.
Virginia Union Food Services -2006-8
Firehouse 15 Food Services 2008
Phillip Morris Food Services--2008
Selba's Restaurant- 2400 West Cary Street-- August 2011- present


* Click for Resume
Geraldine Coley
Full Time Job-- VA Hospital

2006 Graduate
Post Graduate Leader
AmeriCorps
Toastmasters:Past Vice President of Membership/Competent Communicator

gwilliams@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
 
Carlton Dickerson
Part time Job--Firehouse 15

2006 Graduate
Post Graduate Leader
May-June 2006 - First Ambassador of the Month
AmeriCorps Member
Toastmasters:Sergeant of Arms


* Click for Resume
John McNeally
2006 Graduate

2006 Graduate
Apprentice
AmeriCorps Member
Diamond Cafe Manager
Catering
Big Lots Job 2007
 
Beatrice Robinson
Receptionist & Lead Facilitator, Beyond Dialogue

2006 Graduate
Post Graduate-Leader
AmeriCorps Member 2005-06; 06-07
Toastmasters: Past President

brobinson@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Charles Satchell
2006 Graduate

2006 Graduate
AmeriCorps member 2006-7
Connecting Across Richmond (CAR) Events
Beyond Dialogue Facilitator
Church Partnership Initiative
Boaz & Ruth Drama Department
Director Evolutionary Change 2007
 
Shane Simms
2006 Graduate

2006 Graduate
Attending J. Sargeant Reynolds 2006
Website & Database Entry
AmeriCorps Member
Incarcerated Summer 2007

ssimms@boazandruth.com
Alan Webb
2006 Graduate

2006 Graduate
Post Graduate--Leader
Beyond Dialogue Facilitator
AmeriCorps Member 2005-06; 06-07
Toastmasters: Treasurer, Vice President of Education
Dymetech Computer Business 2007
Capital One contract with Temp Service

awebb@boazandruth.com
 
Latasha Williams
2006 Graduate

2006 Graduate
Post Graduate --Leader
Apprentice
AmeriCorps Member
Administration
Job in Health Service Industry/ Taking classes for health service certificate-- 2007

lwilliams@boazandruth.com

Graduates - 2005
Theodore Alexander
2005 Graduate
Post Graduate Master
House leader
Leadership Metro Richmond
Certified Time and Space in the Workplace Facilitator

talexander@boazandruth.com
Calvin Carter
2005 Graduate
Became B&R Staff fall 2008
Senior Apprentice
BELIEF Program
AmeriCorps Member - 2005-06 & 2006-07
 
Kelvin Coley
Full Time Job--Mountain Movers

2005 Graduate
Post Graduate Master
BELIEF Program
AmeriCorps Member-Employed 12 months Full time by the Closet Factory. Kelvin returned to B&R as AmeriCorps member 2007-8 Mountain Movers

kcoley@boazandruth.com

* Click for Resume
Ruth Cosby
Sales, Harvest Thrift & Sunny Days Thrift

2005 Graduate
Post Graduate (Staff--2008)
AmeriCorps Member 2005-2006

rcosby@boazandruth.com
 
Morris Lewis
2005 Graduate
Graduate-- Spring 2005
"The Seed Took Root after I left."
Full time at U. s. Post Office
Writes poetry and maintains contact with B&R.
Jeff Merkel
2005 Graduate
Graduate--Fall 2005
BELIEF Program
Cathedral Apprentice--Assistant Project Director
Toastmasters:Sergeant of Arms
2005 Reopened his former construction business. Has contractors license

JeffMerkel12@verizon.net
 
Edbert Smith
Graduate--Fall 2005

2005 Graduate
Post Graduate--Master
B&R@OAR Apprentice
AmeriCorps Member--2005-2006
Diamond Catering
Toastmasters VicePresident of public relations
Cook Virginia Union 2007

esmith@boazandruth.com
Linda Weiss
2005 Graduate
Graduate--Fall 2005
Refinishing
Inventory Control
2007 Married
hired to open an antique shop and refinishing business

lweiss@boazandruth.com

Graduates - 2004
Veronica Kerns
2004 Graduate
Entered 2002 (First Class) Graduated Spring 2004 Now is B&R staff
AmeriCorps Assistant Report Specialist
EBay Sales at Boaz & Ruth
National Governor's Association Prisoner Reentry Academy: Financial Obligations, Financial & Community Resources, & Housing Subcommittee on Reentry.

veronica@boazandruth.com
Tivell Murray
2004 Graduate
Graduate-Spring 2004
Completed Class in HVAC at Richmond Technical Center
Moved to South Carolina
Keeps in touch when in Richmond
Appreciates B&R training
 
Gregory Reavis
2004 Graduate
Graduate Spring 2004
House of Lighting--Inventory, Receiving, Delivery
Reincarcerated Summer 2006
Clarence F. Taylor
2004 Graduate
Boaz & Ruth Graduate--Spring 2004
City of Richmond
Parks & Recreation